The Arts Are Everywhere!

Located in Chattanooga, Tennessee ArtsBuild’s mission is to build a stronger community through the arts.

For almost 50 years ArtsBuild has supported the creative future of Hamilton County by investing more than $70 million in our community’s leading arts organizations, funding arts integrations programs for our students and teachers, and ensuring that even our most underserved populations have access to arts programming.

ArtsBuild provides free professional arts experiences to more than 11,400 Hamilton County students in grades K-4 each year. Events include a tour of the Creative Discovery Museum, Chattanooga Theatre Centre’s Youth Theatre production, Chattanooga Ballet’s The Nutcracker, Chattanooga Symphony & Opera’s Young People’s Concert, and a Theatre Express performance with the Southern Lit Alliance.

In 2012 ArtsBuild established the Community Cultural Connections grant program designed to bring arts and cultural programming to underserved areas in Hamilton County. These grants have funded more than 70 projects for a total investment of $170,000, with new projects awarded continuously. Recipient organizations have included Orange Grove Center, Salvation Army, H*Art Gallery, Signal Centers, Northside Neighborhood House, and SPLASH.

ArtsBuild's mission is to build a stronger community through the arts by:

  • 01_Partnering_Large

         Collaborating to reach creative solutions

  • Advocating

       Articulating the role of the arts in building lives and communities

  • Connecting

       Providing arts opportunities for all

  • 04_Educating_Large

       Cultivating creativity to enhance academic and personal growth

  • Advancing

       Strengthening the economic environment

  • Supporting

       Generating resources to support arts and cultural experiences

The Board of Directors

Executive Committee

  • Mary Poston Tanner – Chair
  • Sybil Topel – Secretary
  • Marcus McKamey – Treasurer

Ex Officio

  • The Honorable Andy Berke
  • The Honorable Jim Coppinger
  • Jim Kennedy III
  • Bill Kilbride

Board Members

  • Suzy Anthony
  • Warren Barnett
  • Andrea Becksvoort
  • Rowena Belcher
  • Nicole Brown
  • Roger Brown
  • Xavier Cotto
  • Carmen Davis
  • Lee Davis
  • Olga de Klein
  • Isaac Duncan III
  • Sally Faulkner
  • Lori Finlay
  • Patti Frierson
  • Jeannine Grogg
  • Drew Hibbard
  • Vanessa Jackson
  • Bryan Kelly
  • Tiffanie Robinson
  • Peggy Townsend
  • Edna Varner



Rodney Van Valkenburg

President – Interim


Sallie Lawrence

Director of Finance


Kathryn Wroth

Director of Development


Caroline Bulman

Development Manager


Sara Lee Tolbert

Office Manager and Administrative Assistant