ArtsBuild Welcomes 34 Participants to the 12th Holmberg Arts Leadership Institute

ArtsBuild welcomed 34 new class members to its 12th annual Holmberg Arts Leadership Institute during a reception at the Arts Building on Monday, September 12.

Launched in 2005 in memory of long-time board member and arts advocate A. William Holmberg, Jr., the four-month Institute offers behind-the-scenes site visits to cultural and educational institutions, case studies of arts agencies, panel discussions with community leaders, and a unique forum for pursuing shared goals among arts leaders, business leaders, educators, and philanthropic foundations.

“We have another outstanding group for our Holmberg Arts Leadership class this year,” said Rodney Van Valkenburg, Director of Grants and Initiatives at ArtsBuild. “Over the next two months they will make connections and have experiences that will prepare them to be even better leaders in our community and in strengthening Chattanooga through the arts.”

In the past 12 years more than 400 people have graduated from the Holmberg Arts Leadership Institute. Participation is open to residents of the greater Chattanooga area who have demonstrated passionate support and advocacy for the arts and who have made a commitment to making a difference in the quality of life in the community. Past participants have gone on to serve on Boards of Directors and in leadership positions with ArtsBuild and other local cultural agencies.

2016 Holmberg Arts Leadership Class:
Rowena Belcher, Retired
Sandra Brewer, Chattanooga Chamber of Commerce
Kim Brown, Bright School
Tom Brown, DEO Clinic
Katie Byrum, First Tennessee Bank
Meredith Callis, Balance Studio
Shawnessey Cargile, Epilepsy Foundation
Mitch Carter, O’Shaughnessy & Carter
David Chambers, Scenic City Clay Arts
Callan Cook
Jennifer Crutchfield, WTCI-TV
Ingrid Dysinger, Unum
Jana Eichel, Volkswagen
Karen Estes, Tennessee Aquarium
Douglas Finlay, ACA Performance Services
Hannah Hahn, Art120
Sasha Hasanbegovic, Guesthouse Creative
Sarah Hooper, Dish T’Pass
Matthew Hubbard, Chattanooga Symphony & Opera
Brittany Johnson-Mills, Ballet Tennessee
Ray Ann Kurtz, Scenic City Chorus
Kathy Lennon, Chattanooga Workspace
Whitni McDonald, Glasshouse Collective
Sally Moore
Michele Mummert, Southeast Center for Education in the Arts
Jeff Raabe, Rock City
Erica Roberts-Blackmon, Spoken Word Artist
Bill Robinson, Baker Donelson
Natasha Romanova, Gallery owner
David Spiller, Miller & Martin PLLC
Staci Spring, CSO Youth Orchestra
Leigh Todd, Regions Bank
Tara Viland, Chattanooga Presents